COVID-19: Government & Community Updates as of July 2 CLICK HERE.

Historic Preservation Commission

The Historic Preservation Commission is a seven-member group appointed by the Board of Supervisors to review projects and developments that may change or alter the historic character of historic districts in the county. One member is also Planning Commission member, and one member must be either an architect or architectural historian. The Commission also works to educate the public about Clarke’s historic and cultural resources. HPC members serve four-year terms.

Current Members:

  • Betsy Arnett, Chair
  • Katherine Berger
  • Page Carter
  • Terri T. Catlett, Board of Supervisors representative
  • Doug Kruhm, Planning Commission representative
  • Robert Stieg
  • Billy Thompson IV
  • Robert “Robin” York, Vice Chair

Historic Preservation Commission meetings begin at 4 p.m. on the third Wednesday of odd-numbered months in the second-floor meeting space of the Berryville-Clarke County Government Center located at 101 Chalmers Ct. in Berryville, Va. All meetings are open to the public.

For more information contact:

Alison Teetor
Natural Resources Planner
(540) 955-5134

Maral Kalbian
Clarke County Architectural Historian
(540) 955-1231

2018 Historic Resources Plan

Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Download Acrobat Reader Flash Player Download Flash Player Windows Media Player Download Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Download Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Download Word Viewer Excel Viewer Download Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer Download PowerPoint Viewer