COVID-19: Government & Community Updates as of July 7 CLICK HERE.

Conservation Easement Authority

The seven-member Conservation Easement Authority is appointed by the Board of Supervisors and includes one member from the Board of Supervisors (one-year term), one member from the Planning Commission (one-year term), and five county residents who serve three-year terms. The Conservation Easement Authority serves to protect and preserve land with significant agricultural, natural, scenic, and historic resources. Specifically, it considers quality farmland; land that provides open space and rural character; environmentally sensitive areas important to water quality, plant life, and wildlife; historic resources; natural and scenic resources; land that supports tourism; and land with water resources.

The Authority can acquire and/or receive conservation easements, by purchase, gift, or other conveyance; can hold and enforce conservation easements conveyed to it; administer the Clarke County Conservation Easement Purchase Program pursuant to Chapter 72 of the Code of Clarke County; and exercise any powers authorized by the Public Recreational Facilities Authorities Act.

Current Members:

  • Rives Bacon
  • Terri Catlett, Board of Supervisors representative
  • Randy Buckley, Chair and Planning Commission representative
  • Pete Engel, Secretary
  • Michelle M. Jones
  • George L. Ohrstrom, Vice Chair
  • Walker Thomas

Conservation Easement Authority meetings begin at 10 a.m. on the third Thursday of every month in the second-floor meeting space ofthe Berryville-Clarke County Government Center located at 101 Chalmers Ct. in Berryville, Va. All meetings are open to the public.

For more information contact:

Alison Teetor
Natural Resources Planner
(540) 955-5134

View information about Conservation Easements