COVID-19: Government & Community Updates as of July 1 CLICK HERE.

Board of Zoning Appeals

Clarke County Circuit Court appoints five residents to serve four-year terms on the Board of Zoning Appeals; recommendations for the board are made by the Board of Supervisors. One member is also a member of the Clarke County Planning Commission. Board of Zoning Appeals reviews applications for variances from Zoning Ordinance regulations when a literal enforcement of the Ordinance will result in a hardship approaching confiscation of the use of a property (as opposed to a convenience). The BZA decides on Zoning Ordinance appeals and interprets the Zoning Map when there is any uncertainty as to location of a zoning district boundary.

Current Members:

  • Alain F. Borel
  • Clay Brumback, alternate
  • Anne Caldwell, Planning Commission representative
  • Charles Kackley
  • Howard Means
  • Laurie Volk

Board of Zoning Appeals meetings are scheduled as needed and held in the second-floor meeting space of the Berryville-Clarke County Government Center located at 101 Chalmers Ct. in Berryville, Va. All meetings are open to the public.

For more information contact:

Ryan Fincham
Senior Planner & Zoning Administrator
(540) 955-5131