COVID-19: Government & Community Updates as of July 7 CLICK HERE.

Board of Supervisors

The Board of Supervisors is the county’s elected, governing body that makes budget and land-use decisions, manages the Code of Clarke County, plans for growth and development, sets operational policies, and appoints individuals to serve on various boards, committees, and commissions. The Board also hires the County Administrator, who manages county employees and day-to-day operations of the county.

The Code of Virginia provides that a Board of Supervisors govern each county. Clarke County Supervisors, who are elected to four-year terms in the same election year, represent five magisterial districts: Berryville, Buckmarsh-Blue Ridge, Millwood-Pine Grove, Russell, and White Post. The Board organizes itself and selects two members to serve as chair and vice chair at the first meeting of each year.


Voting DistrictsBerryville Voting District
Matthew E. Bass
101 Chalmers Ct., Berryville VA 22611
(540) 955-5175

Buckmarsh Voting District
David Weiss, Chair
P.O. Box 349, Berryville VA 22611
(540) 955-2151

Russell Voting District
Doug Lawrence
P. O. Box 107, Berryville VA 22611
(540) 955-2144

Millwood Voting District
Terri T. Catlett
101 Chalmers Ct., Berryville VA 22611
(540) 837-2328

White Post Voting District
Bev McKay, Vice Chair
P.O. Box 1, Millwood VA 22646
(540) 837-1331


Board of Supervisors regular meetings begin at 1 p.m. on the third Tuesday of every month. Each session of the meeting (afternoon and evening) includes a Citizen Comment period in which any resident may speak on any subject.

The Board has three committee meetings on the second Monday of each month, a week prior to the regular meeting:

  • 9:30 a.m. Personnel Committee
  • 10 a.m. Work Session
  • Finance Committee immediately after the Work Session

All meetings are in the second-floor meeting space of the Berryville-Clarke County Government Center located at 101 Chalmers Ct. in Berryville, Va. All meetings are open to the public.

For more information contact:

Chris Boies
County Administrator
(540) 955-5191 or (540) 955-5100

Brianna Taylor
Deputy Clerk to the Board
(540) 955-5186 or (540) 955-5100
(540) 955-5179 (fax)