Blandy Experimental Farm – The State Arboretum of Virginia
Located on 712 acres, this University of Virginia research facility includes the 175 acre State Arboretum of Virginia with more than 8,000 trees and woody shrubs. The grounds are open to the public with both walking and driving loops within this remarkable park like setting. Facilities include a 10-room brick slave quarters built between 1825 and 1830. This facility was expanded in 1943 and converted to laboratories and faculty housing. Many public events are held here each year, including a summer season of live music at Blandy’s amphitheater and one of the areas largest plant sales (Mother’s Day weekend) with an emphasis on indigenous and heritage varieties. Facilities for educational purposes with optional overnight stays are available. Please go to their website for more details.
Barns of Rose Hill (Berryville)
Not more than 300 feet from the center of Berryville stood a farm that remained active well into the 20th century. This farm was called Rose Hill and its two unique barns still remain on what is now Rose Hill Park. These barns have recently had an extensive renovation including a world class sound system and accoustic engineering that will serve the community as a space for leaning, creativity, and entertainment that will ideally reflect Clarke County’s cultural heritage. Live music is performed nearly every weekend ranging from Blues to Bluegrass.The barns will also contain a Visitor Center that will be open 7 days a week.
Burwell – Morgan Mill in the Village of Millwood
This fully restored and operable grain mill has been milling wheat since 1785 in the center of historic Millwood. In addition to the Mill being open for tours, the area's largest Art Shows are held here in the srping and fall. The mill was owned by Lt. Col. Nathaniel Burwell and operated in partnership with one of the American Revolutionary War’s most notable patriots, Gen. Daniel Morgan. Col. Burwell’s home, “Carter Hall” is located on the northern edge of Millwood. Gen. Morgan lived less than 2 miles west of Millwood on his farm “Saratoga”, named after his most famous victory of the Revolutionary War. Both properties are privately owned.
Clarke County Historical Association Museum (Berryville)
Revolutionary War hero, General Daniel Morgan, Thomas Fairfax, the 6th Lord Baron Fairfax of Cameron, and Senator Harry F. Byrd all called Clarke County home and a young George Washington found employment as a surveyor working for Lord Fairfax and resided here for several years. The museum tells the story of Clarke County and her many unique and historic families. Artifacts, research archives, films and much more can be found at the museum. The museum is open Tuesday through Saturday and is located at 32 East Main Street. Phone number: 955-2600.
Holy Cross Abbey Monastery
The monastery is located at the foot of the Blue Ridge Mountains bordered by the Shenandoah River on over 1,000 acres of fertile and scenic farmland. The monastery belongs to the Cistercian Order that was first founded in France in 1098. The monastery makes their own fruitcakes and harvest and packages a variety of honeys. The Abbey also has a retreat house on the property open to all guest, men and women, for a period of several days that wish to spend time in quietness and prayer. The peaceful surroundings and spiritual energy here is a far cry from two hot summer days in July 1864. On those two fateful days the Battle of Cool Spring was fought between General Early of the Confederacy and General Crook of the Union. The old manor house on the monastery property remains and is a central part of the monastery structures. The monastery can be reached at 540-955-9494 or 9440.
Long Branch Historic House and Farm
George Washington helped survey this rolling hill estate that was formerly part of the vast land holdings of Lord Fairfax. In 1808 Robert Carter Burwell began construction on a unique and spectacular mansion with unrivaled panoramic views of the Blue Ridge Mountains and surrounding hillsides. The old manor house contains some of our country’s finest examples of 18th and 19th century furniture. House tours are open to the general public. In addition to house tours, Long Branch holds many different events and festivals for the public including the regions most noted Hot Air Balloon Festival. Private rental for weddings is available.
Josephine School Community Museum (Berryville)
This circa 1882 schoolhouse has been restored to replicate a classroom of approximately that same era. The preservation of this unique schoolhouse embodies the history and heritage of Clarke County’s African-American community and echoes the early African-American effort to provide a free education for all who passed through its doors. The old schoolhouse became a major focal point of a proud and determined African-American community that placed each of them squarely on a path of both personal and community success. The museum is located at 303 Josephine Street in Berryville.
“Old Chapel” is the oldest Episcopal Church building still in continuous use west of the Blue Ridge Mountains. The original construction was built of logs circa 1738. After being destroyed during the Revolutionary War the chapel was rebuilt using stone in 1789, which is the chapel seen today. The cemetery is literally a who’s who of our country’s first families. One such notable buried here is the first Attorney General of the United States, Edmund Randolph. Randolph was also a former Governor of Virginia, having seceded Patrick Henry. He also served as the second Secretary of State during George Washington’s presidency, replacing Thomas Jefferson after Jefferson resigned. The Chapel is located at the intersection of Route 340 and Route 255.